Skip to main content
Banner Image

Research & Writing: Home

Research & Writing

Information in this guide will help students work through the steps and process of completing a research paper.                        

Image from Writing Stock Photos

Research & Writing

Research is a little like trying to put together the pieces of a puzzle. 

  • When perusing databases, journals, books, and various other sources, take note of the names of people who are often quoted; scholars who are doing research on your topic and the universities with which they are affiliated; spokespersons, and influential figures; and then search for articles that are written by them. 
  • Check the bibliographies and footnotes in the articles you come across, as well as suggestions for further reading. 
    • Do these sources seem relevant or pertain to your topic?  If so, does the library have these materials? 
    • Can you locate them through other databases or through interlibrary loan (interlibrary loan is a service by which you can receive books and photocopies of documents that are owned by another library). 

Your Questions?

  • a small icon
    Email your question to library@vwc.edu  
  • a small icon
    Text your question via SMS to (757) 401-6510  
  • a small icon
    Call the library at 757/455-3224  

Hofheimer Librarians

Hofheimer Librarians
Contact:
Ask Us A Question

Jenny Erdmann, and Stephen Leist (Research Librarians), Sue Erickson (Library Director) and Patty Clark (Research Librarian) Not Shown: Sophie Rondeau (Technical Services Librarian)

serickson@vwc.edu
phclark@vwc.edu
jerdmann@vwc.edu
sleist@vwc.edu
wrondeau@vwc.edu

Library Main Number 757.455.3224
Website / Blog Page
Hofheimer Library, Virginia Wesleyan College 1584 Wesleyan Dr Norfolk VA 23502 757/455-3224